Have a question about harassment, discrimination, wrongful termination, or retaliation? Please read:
Call (213) 992-3299 anytime. Free. Confidential. Hablamos Espanol.
WAGE CLAIMS (2021)
Studies show that as many as 4 out of 5 employees are the victims of wage theft. If your employer owes you money, you have the right to immediately file a labor board complaint against your employer and have your case heard by a California Labor Commissioner-appointed judge. The judge is authorized to issue a judgment against your employer awarding you unpaid wages, penalties, attorney fees and interest. The labor board does not charge any filing fees or other costs. California Labor Commissioner Julie Su has stated that she is committed to protecting the wage rights of undocumented or illegal immigrants. It is against the law for an employer to threaten employees based on their immigration status.
Under California labor laws and associated wage orders, employers are required to give non-exempt employees who work or reside in the State of California the following wage rights:
- - a 10-minute paid rest break if you work more than 3.5 hours in a day
- - a second 10-minute paid rest break if you work more than 6 hours in a day
- - a 30-minute meal break if you work more than 5 hours in a day
- - a second 30-minute meal break if you work more than 10 hours in a day
- - time and a half if you work
- a) more than 8 hours in a day,
- b) more than 40 hours in a week, or
- c) seven days in a row in a work week
- - double time if you work
- a) more than 12 hours in a day, or
- b) more than 8 hours on the seventh day in a row in a work week
If you have been terminated or laid off, you are entitled to receive your final wages upon termination or on your last day of work.
If you resign, you are entitled to receive your final paycheck within 72 hours after your last day of work.
You final wages must include any unpaid vacation pay (but not sick leave pay).
A manager or supervisor (even if part-time) is not legally allowed to take from your tips or the tip pool. The law treats this as tip theft.
Driving Mileage Reimbursements
If you are required to drive from your employer's office to a job site, your employer is required to pay you a mileage reimbursement at the IRS standard mileage rate. As of January 1, 2018, that rate is 54.5 cents per mile. If your employer has failed to do this, your claim could be large - thousands of dollars.
Your employer is not permitted to take deductions out of your paycheck unless you have agreed to it in writing. Even if your employer has loaned you money, he cannot make any deductions without your written consent. If this is occurring, you are entitled to recover not only the moneys that were deducted, but any attorney fees you have incurred.
If you complain to your employer or the Labor Board about any of the above wage violations, the law prohibits retaliation against you. Retaliation could include a reduction of your work hours, demotion, pay cuts, suspension, termination, etc. If you are the victim of retaliation, you are entitled to file a retaliation complaint with the California Labor Board.
FILING YOUR LABOR BOARD COMPLAINT (2021)
Filing a wage complaint with the California Department of Labor Standards Enforcement (otherwise known as the Labor Board or DLSE), can take as little as 30 minutes on the phone.
Even if you believe you are owed as little as a few hundred dollars, the penalties that apply under the California Labor Code can be thousands of dollars. Penalties include waiting time penalties, liquidated damages penalties, bounced check penalties, etc.
What You Need to File a Complaint
If you have any of the following documents, please have them ready when you call:
How Long the Complaint Process Takes
Resolving your wage complaint can take as little as a few weeks to as many as a few years. There are many factors involved, including how complicated your complaint is, how backlogged the commissioner and labor board office assigned to your case is, how willing your employer is to settle, whether your employer decides to appeal, etc.
The Steps in the Complaint Process
The first step is to fill out a Form 1 labor board complaint. You will typically need to also fill out a Form 55 attachment that sets out each amount you are owed for each pay period you worked for the employer. If you have a retaliation claim, you will also need to fill out a Form RCI-1.
If you need help with these forms, call us at (213) 992-3299 as the forms can be more complicated than they appear. Incorrect complaints are typically rejected by the labor board and need to be corrected before they can be re-filed. The re-filing process can take weeks or months. We can prepare the forms correctly for you in as little as a few hours.
In the above example, the claimant had submitted a complaint to the labor board that alleged only $1,274.97 in unpaid straight time and that lacked the required Form 55 calculation exhibit. After correction, an amended complaint was re-submitted that alleged $20,512.34 in unpaid straight time, overtime, meal and rest break premiums, liquidated damages, records penalties and waiting time penalties. In addition, required supporting calculation exhibits, including Form 55, were attached. The amended complaint package was accepted by the labor board.
Next, you need to file your complaint with the correct DLSE office. There are 18 regional DLSE offices assigned to the various cities in California. Which DLSE office you must apply to depends on which city you worked in. Again, this can be trickier than it first seems, as the office that is closest to the city where you worked isn't always the correct DLSE office to file in. Also DLSE office city assignments are subject to change. Filing with the wrong DLSE office can cause months of delay and often requires that you simply re-file your complaint with the correct DLSE office.
If you need help with this, give us a call at (213) 992-3299. We can ensure your complaints are filed with the correct DLSE office.
After your complaint is filed, you will receive a notice of conference from the labor board, typically in 2 to 4 months. At the conference, which you, your employer, and/or your attorneys are required to attend, the commissioner will ask questions, confirm information, and finalize your labor board complaint, which you will then sign.
After that, the final hearing (trial) takes place, in as little as a few months to as long as 1 year after the conference. You will typically have to request subpoenas from the labor board and have them personally served on your employer and any witnesses to ensure you have the evidence you need to win your trial. At trial, you must present to the hearing officer a copy of all documents and provide all witnesses required to support your claim.
The hearing officer will issue an ODA (order, decision or adjudication) within 15 days after the trial (although in reality, the wait can be months). The parties will then have 10 to 15 days to appeal. If there is an appeal, the whole process starts completely over, except this time, your complaint is transferred from the labor board to a California State superior court.
If you have won your trial and/or any appeal, you will be issued a judgment. Then you must begin your collection efforts. The labor board typically does not assist you with collection, although it depends on your claim and your employer.
If you need assistance with any of the above, give us a call anytime at (213) 992-3299 and talk to an expert now.
Van Nuys - Entertainment Work Permits